Live Review: The Stooges Brass Band @ Breeders’ Cup Festival Week, Lexington KY (10/29)

IMG_1259The Stooges Brass Brand hail from New Orleans, but I think everyone there could have figured that out on their own.

The band radiates sunny sounds and feelings through their set full of dance numbers and Louisiana classics. They set the tone for a huge weekend in Lexington, causing many in attendance to dance from beginning to end. It may have been Thirsty Thursday, but the adults were living it up at the Courthouse Plaza in downtown Lexington as The Stooges Brass Band brightened up the night with their soulful sounds.

And when I say the adults showed up, I mean it. The show was full of 30 and 40 somethings, couples out on the town ready to party through a weekend of festivities. Personally, it’s always a lot of fun for me to be in these crowds. It kind of reminded me of seeing George Clinton and Parliament Funkadelic at Mercury Ballroom in May. No matter the age, everyone was young in spirit at this event.

The band certainly used their personality to tease out that energy. Subtle hints of hip hop throughout added a flare, though I’m not sure this crowd caught all of those musical references. I promise I’m not ragging on old people. I’m all in on partying with more old people.

In fact, they were so much fun that when the band left the stage a group of ladies ran to the side and introduced themselves. They sprung into an encore following a series of “ONE. MORE. SONG!”‘s and the ladies accompanied them on-stage as backup dancers. Seeing how happy they looked to be up there had to be the highlight of the night.

The Stooges Brass Band may not have been the most electrifying big band I’ve seen live, but on a Thursday night for free? I’m not sure anyone left disappointed. I was happy to be there and take it all in with the old seasoned vets in attendance. I would have liked to have seen a little more individual soloing, I think. They only showed brief stints of that and I think they could have benefited from showing all their cards.

Still, for a show that people were greeted with when leaving the bar, you had to be satisfied. The people wanted to dance, and The Stooges Brass Band gave ’em a place to do it. That’s all you can ask for.

Check out photos from the set here.

Leave a Reply

