Live Review: Migos @ The Louisville Palace, Louisville KY (3/26)

migos

My plans for the night were anything but set in stone, but seeing Migos was never a possibility until about 7:15 p.m.

I had just finished watching Kentucky’s heartbreaking loss to North Carolina in the NCAA Tournament, soaked in depression. Suddenly, all that was left to do was sit around and mope. Until I noticed my friend had texted me about some extra Migos tickets for a show that night.

There was only one thing that could cheer me up:

Yes, I said “screw everything,” hopped in my ride and made a quick run to Louisville.

I got there shortly before 9 p.m., the expected time for Migos to perform. Of course, with most rap shows, that was anything but true. The Atlanta trio didn’t show up until well after 10 p.m., so there was no concern about missing any of the show.

Like being fashionably late, Migos stayed true to some of rap’s biggest pitfalls in live music. The rappers essentially did a karaoke set as their DJ played the instrumentals and studio vocals. I can look past having a DJ click play because that’s common enough, but sometimes the studio vocals totally flushed out the live bars the rappers spit. That’s a bummer.

I kind of knew what I was getting into though. I love some Migos songs, but hardly expected them to be great live performers. For me, it was all about getting out of Sad Lexington for a few hours and seeing Migos be truly ridiculous. I mean, forreal. Look at Takeoff’s goggles.

If that’s where the bar was set, Migos cleared that pretty easily. Ultimately, I just made the best out of a shitty situation and had a fun night instead. So shoutout to Migos. Shoutout to Rachel. Shoutout to Popeyes. Shoutout to ski goggles. Shoutout to Bad and Boujee. Shoutout to Slippery. And shoutout to Slide, even if they didn’t play it. What a shame.

Leave a Reply

